Should we do what we love, or love what we do?

I have bounced around from job to job – even someone who only knows me through this blog can tell that. I’ve found I’m actually fairly good at getting a response to my applications, and have been offered the majority of the positions I’ve been interviewed for. But for various reasons including frequent company turnover, lack of pay or room to grow, and even my own discontentment, I’ve had close to ten different jobs since my college graduation — and people seem to see this as a bad thing.

Sean Blanda, a fellow Temple University SCT Journalism alum, recently gave a TED talk on the way that the job market has changed in the last few decades, and he touches upon this very subject. We’re changing jobs more frequently than ever in 2014, and the idea of starting at the bottom isn’t always a feasible or smart option. He mentions a good friend of mine from school, Sammy Davis, who has gone on to start her own site, Sammy D Vintage, followed by a positivity campaign called #LipstickAffirmations, which has propelled her into her latest project, SammyD.tv.

Sammy has taken her unique skill sets and created something completely original. While this in a terrifying concept for many (including myself), she recognized that she wasn’t going to get where she wanted to be by hanging onto the rungs of the corporate ladder, and followed her passions to build her own way up. In other words: If you’re unhappy, do something about it.

It doesn’t often feel that simple, and for everyone who succeeds the way Sammy has, there are many others who struggle to pursue their own projects while supporting themselves in a day-to-day job that may be completely off their desired path. My boyfriend, for example, works in high-end catering and food delivery, but he ultimately wants to be a animator. He studied film, has taken countless art classes, and spends all of his spare time working on his website, reel, and side animation projects. And every day, he applies for jobs that will hopefully help him get a foot in the door of the industry.

I think the bottom line is that there is no one right way – we all have to make money to survive, we’re all struggling to find where we belong and what we love to do. Some of us will always be unhappy at our jobs, and some will continue to find the good in every position. In order to make myself feel better, I’ve decided that I’ll take the latter approach, and find every opportunity to continue to search for my “dream job,” even if I have to create it myself.

Leave a Reply

