Things we all need to stop doing

1. The comments section. Oh geez. I know, I know, I should just stop reading it. But I’m a very curious person, and like to complete things, so the comments section just seems to creep right up. I’ll be fair: They aren’t all horrible. I often enjoy the more intelligent conversation on sites like Gawker. (Before you jump down my throat: it’s DEFINITELY not always that way. But more often than many other sites.) For the most part though, It’s just people tearing apart whatever the author said, and then someone jumping down their throat, and back and forth. And ALL OF THE TROLLS. AUGH.

2. Calling yourself a nerd in that cutesy way or “I’m a ____ nerd!” I haven’t quite pinned down the reason that this bothers me so much yet. I think it’s mostly because the people who say it are often the people who like to do what’s trendy right now; I don’t remember this being such a phenomenon before The Big Bang Theory. And to be honest, I really don’t see why we have to put labels on people (see item 4 on this list).

3. Saying, “My boyfriend/mom/boss/dog/whatever is better than yours.” No. We all love the people we’re closest to because of how they enrich our lives. Why do you need to compare? People frequently told me growing up that my mom was once of the nicest people they’ve ever met, and that’s probably true. That doesn’t make her better than your mom, and just makes her a great mom for me. You don’t need to put other people down to make yourself feel better about whatever inadequacies are bothering you.

4. Judging each other: Yes, this may seem hypocritical due to the nature of this list, but I’m just going to go ahead and find a loophole, and say that these are guidelines. I’m not judging you, but advising you of somethings you could/should stop doing, in order to not piss the living hell out of others. This pretty much sums up the other three things on this list, which is why it seems unavoidable to mention.

And again, I’m aware that someone could (if people actually read this) go into the comments section and say “Becca, this whole list is you judging people. You’re such a hypocrite, and my mom is way better than yours. OMG, I’m such a nerd.”

Well, this was a worthless post.

Leave a Reply

