Mindful Monday: It starts here

“And I want life in every word to the extent that it’s absurd.”

If you know me, you know that this line from The Postal Service defines me: I want words to mean something, because words are everything to me. I want for every word that I write and speak to be perfectly constructed, conveying an infinite number of things. I want my words to be interpreted in various ways, to make people think, to spark intelligent conversation.

I went on a job interview last week, and I got to answer my favorite question: Why did you study journalism? I can’t help but grin when asked this, because I’ve spent so much time thinking about it on my own. Every time I answer is always a bit different, but the gist of it is that frankly, I love writing and communication, and I want to have the opportunity to relay to others information in my own, unique way.

Which is a reason why one creates a blog, isn’t it? But this space has truly just become a place to vent; I haven’t yet figured out how to turn it into a representation of what I can do, of who I am. So my experiment begins: I’m going to try to post on here every day (or, more realistically, every couple of days). Something, anything, as long as there is some writing and interpretation involved on my part. I have a lot of interests, so this will likely be varied. But I need to be okay with the fact that this is an experiment, so there will be mistakes. It will be imperfect, but as long as I’m writing more, I’m meeting my goal. And hopefully getting back the creative spark that’s been missing from my work.

After all, “Clark Gable” is, in part, about drawing upon creativity to find what you have lost.

One thought on “Mindful Monday: It starts here

Leave a Reply

