I can’t keep up.

Seriously, why does everything move so fast? The last time I was on WordPress, everything looked different, as it had the time before that. I only use Twitter, Tumblr and Pinterest for work these days, so I feel as though I have no idea what’s going on outside of Facebook/BuzzFeed (i.e. idiotic commentary/hilarious gifs).

Since I last wrote on here, my roommate has (thankfully) moved out, my boyfriend has moved in, and I’ve got a new job I’ve been working out for the last few months. My niece was born, my eldest younger sister is about to head off to college, and my family has adopted a new kitten. There’s a new Doctor, a couple of good shows have ended, and I’ve seen at least 4 pretty good movies in the theater. I can’t even keep track of everything I’ve done, with the exception of my work hours (which are recorded on a Google Doc).

So this time I’m not in a bad place, but I am unsettled. I’m one half of a couple that’s trying to make a place “our own,” which very possibly will soon include a dog. I like what I’m doing, but I want to do more towards reaching my goals. All of this just leaves me with more questions: Can we afford a pet? Should I look for another job? Or take a college course? I hate my gym… should I quit and find somewhere else to take classes?

I turn 25 in 10 days. I know that being a 20-something means things are up in the air, and yet I can’t help but see all of those that have their lives more put together. I feel as though I’m off track with what it is I want to achieve. It’s been over a year since I moved to Los Angeles, and I’ve lost touch with the part of me that was so determined when I came out here.

I want to write articles that are important, that mean something to someone. I want to go to more movie screenings and events and write about them. And yet I’m scared to try to do more, because I’m comfortable. But I guess if I don’t, I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

