random things I like #2

So last night, I’m trying to fall asleep, and I can’t get this one song out of my head. But it’s not like I’d just heard it that day, it’s a song that from time to time will get stuck in there, I think because the lyrics are so easy to relate to. I feel like I could have written them myself. I absolutely LOVE music like that. (I bolded the parts that most feel like they came straight from my mind.)

Mariah Carey- We Belong Together

I didn’t mean it
When I said I didn’t love you, so
I should have held on tight
I never shoulda let you go

I didn’t know nothing
I was stupid, I was foolish
I was lying to myself
I could not fathom that I would ever
Be without your love

Never imagined I’d be
Sitting here beside myself

Cause I didn’t know you
Cause I didn’t know me
But I thought I knew everything
I never felt

The feeling that I’m feeling
Now that I don’t hear your voice
Or have your touch and kiss your lips
Cause I don’t have a choice
Oh, what I wouldn’t give
To have you lying by my side

Right here, cause baby
(We belong together)

[chorus]
When you left I lost a part of me
It’s still so hard to believe
Come back baby, please
Cause we belong together

Who else am I gon’ lean on
When times get rough

Who’s gonna talk to me on the phone
Till the sun comes up
Who’s gonna take your place
There ain’t nobody better
Oh, baby baby, we belong together

I can’t sleep at night
When you are on my mind

Bobby Womack’s on the radio
Saying to me
“If you think you’re lonely now”
Wait a minute
This is too deep (too deep)
I gotta change the station
So I turn the dial
Trying to catch a break
And then I hear Babyface
“I only think of you”
And it’s breaking my heart
I’m trying to keep it together
But I’m falling apart

I’m feeling all out of my element
I’m throwing things, crying
Trying to figure out
Where the hell I went wrong
The pain reflected in this song
It ain’t even half of what

I’m feeling inside
I need you
Need you back in my life, baby

 

Then there’s my ex-boyfriend, my first love. I moved during one of our “off” times, and when we finally reconnected, this song seemed to apply to every single one of our phone calls. It didn’t hurt that it was the sort of music we both listened to at the time. We went to Warped Tour that summer, and watched them play this song live while I lay in his lap in the grass. It was perfection. (At the end, I would obviously substitute “boy” for “girl”, but I was the one who would generally visit.)

The Starting Line- Best of Me

Here we lay again
On two separate beds
Riding phone lines

To meet a familiar voice
And pictures drawn from memory
We reflect on miscommunications
And misunderstandings
And missing each other too much
To have had to let go

We turn our music down
And we whisper
Say what your thinking right now

Tell me what you thought about
When you were gone and so alone
The worst is over
You can have the best of me
We got older but we’re still young
We never grew out of this feeling that we wont give up

Jumping to conclusions
Made me fall away from you
I’m so glad that the truth
Has brought back together me and you

We’re sitting on the ground
And we whisper
Say what your thinking out loud

We turn our music down
And we whisper
We’re sitting on the ground
And we whisper
We turn our music down
We’re sitting on the ground
And next time i’m in town
We will kiss girl

We will kiss girl

 

And this song is so my “right now” song. Well, it has been for awhile. I’ll probably add more to this later, but I get bored of the same blog entry pretty fast. Besides, good things come in threes.

The Gin Blossoms- Hey Jealousy

Tell me do you think it’d be all right
If I could just crash here tonight
You can see I’m in no shape for driving
And anyway I’ve got no place to go

And you know it might not be that bad
You were the best I’d ever had
If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might not be alone

Tomorrow we can drive around this town
And let the cops chase us around
The past is gone but something might be found
To take its place…hey jealousy

And you can trust me not to think
And not to sleep around
If you don’t expect too much from me
You might not be let down

Cause all I really want is to be with you
Feeling like I matter too

If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might be here with you

Leave a Reply

